Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

Living in Longing…

on May 29, 2013

“I will put my trust in Him.” Hebrews 2:13

English: Screenshot of Alice from the trailer ...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I think that the Lord gives us the ability to dream and long for more because He is more and abundant. When we are setting our sights on Him, aren’t we truly longing for a life of joy?

I grew up a child of a dreamer. My dad loved to dream. He would share with me the dreams of his boyhood, his dreams for my life, the dreams he had for our world. He loved to dream and by the nature of things I became a dreamer too.

I think the reason I love to write is because I can turn my dreams into a bit of reality. I keep countless journals at any given time; chronicling the happenings of my life. I am always wondering what will be. Often times I feel like Alice and the rabbit hole…curious about the next thing.

I believe the Lord has set that desire to dream in my heart. I believe He has done this to give me hope in my future. For far too long I lived in fear of what could be. My dreams where taken over by what-ifs…scenarios I created out of worry. Times I felt paralyzed.  When we live in fear, we stop living in the now. I suppose dreaming too much or too often can veil the now as well, if you make your dreams an idol.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you,” declares the Lord.” Jeremiah 29:11-14

There is a fine line between longing for and dreaming about, and idolizing. Our hopes and dreams most certainly must be rooted in the Lord’s will for our life. We must petition Him for what is best and life giving. We must seek His authority.  We must trust that He is already in our future, He wrote it upon the scrolls of His heart before the earth was created. He knows long before we dream what our hearts desire.

I am assured that when we are firmly set in the Lord’s will, He will answer the desires of our heart.

I recently shared with a friend to never give up on that which we long for. The dreams and desires of one’s heart are important and precious to the Lord. What we must not forget, is that while we may dream and hope, we must always be patient and wait on Him. His timing is perfect. He will answer the prayers we have in His perfect will. Sometimes His will is a change in our dreams and hopes. Sometimes it is a different direction. Still, we must wait patiently on Him and trust that He has our life in His Mighty Hands.

Beloved, whatever your heart desires, give it to the Lord. Let Him be the One to direct your paths. As you stand in awe of His majesty, He will reveal the perfect course for your life.

“So I say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; he who seeks finds; and to him who knocks, the door will be opened.” Luke 11: 9-10


Leave a comment