Sunshinelittleone's Blog

All about my love for the Lord

WAKE UP!!!!!!!!!

on May 30, 2012
English: The face of a black windup alarm clock

English: The face of a black windup alarm clock (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Therefore by Him let us continually offer the sacrifice of praise to God, that is, the fruit of our lips, giving thanks to His name.” Hebrews 13:15 NKJV

I have to wake up praising God.  My alarm is set to a particular radio station (www.klove.com).  On the mornings my alarm is set; I wake up thanking the Lord for all He has poured into my life.  In between the snoozes I spend time thanking Him, lifting my day to Him, and praising His mighty name.  On the days my alarm isn’t set; I have a great deal of trouble mustering the words of thanksgiving on my own…without a reminder.  It isn’t as though my day is shot or I don’t recognize the greatness of God in my life.  Rather it’s as though that initial prompt from the alarm clock is just enough to set my mind fully on Christ.  I need a reminder.

Isn’t that sad?  I need to be reminded to thank God for the many blessings He has lavished me with.  I have to have something tangible…something affecting my senses…to really spend the rest of my day in His presence.  I must repent.

He never forgets me or you.  He is ever-present.  He never needs an alarm or an alarming situation to remember His beloved.  He has His eye on us every moment of the day (and night).  He is always with us.

I want to be like Him.  I want to set my sights daily, without reminder, on His goodness.  I am not a subject of Pavlovian law…my love and praise should not be a relationship of cause and effect, prompted by the poor reception of an old radio.  I should be soaking in His goodness each moment of the day.  I should recognize, in everything, His presence. I should do this all without a gentle nudge.  It should be the way I live my life; fully aware of the power of Christ.

I am going to seek Him in all the things I do.  I will seek to find Him in the eyes and hearts of my children.  I will feel His presence as I kiss my husband hello from a long day.  I will look out the window at the graying sky and thank Him for the impending rain…it gives life.  I am grateful beyond measure that while I may turn my back on Him throughout the day, He NEVER ever does the same.

Dear Heavenly Father,
I am awed and amazed at how You love me.  I am beyond thankful for the blessings You pour over me and mine.  I will seek to praise You without prompt.  Thank You for always being so very patient with me.  In Jesus’ name, Amen.


2 responses to “WAKE UP!!!!!!!!!

  1. Kelly says:

    Thank you for this post today, sweet Samantha. Today I was thinking to myself that I have been horrible about starting my day with the Lord – and keeping him in the forefront of my mind throughout the day. Now that CBS is over, and I don’t have something “structured” to study, I’ve been doing more sleeping in and less starting my day off in the Word. I’ll be praying the above prayer over and over. As always, I am so thankful for His grace!

Leave a comment